Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Faculty

Main content start

Jeremy Bailenson

Jeremy Bailenson

Thomas More Storke Professor of Communication
Director, Doctoral Program in Communication
bailenso@stanford.edu
650.723.0701
web.stanford.edu/~bailenso
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 328

Bailenson studies the psychology of Virtual and Augmented Reality, in particular how virtual experiences lead to changes in perceptions of self and others.

More

R.B. Brenner

R.B. Brenner

Lecturer
650.497.1443
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 300E
rbbrenner@stanford.edu, @rbbrenner

More

Angèle Christin

Angèle Christin

Assistant Professor
angelec@stanford.edu
650.725.6113
www.angelechristin.com
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 334

Christin's research examines how algorithms and analytics transform professional values, expertise, and work practices.

More

James S. Fishkin

James S. Fishkin

Janet M. Peck Professor of International Communication
jfishkin@stanford.edu
650.723.4611 
cdd.stanford.edu
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 350

Fishkin’s work focuses on deliberative democracy and democratic theory.

More

Theodore L. Glasser

Theodore Glasser

Professor of Communication, Emeritus
glasser@stanford.edu
web.stanford.edu/~glasser

Glasser’s research focuses on media practices and performance, with emphasis on questions of press responsibility and accountability.

More

James T. Hamilton

James T. Hamilton

Hearst Professor of Communication
Chair,  Department of Communication
Director, Stanford Journalism Program
jayth@stanford.edu
650.723.5448
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 340 
CV

Hamilton’s research focuses on computational journalism and he is exploring how the costs of story discovery can be lowered through better use of data and algorithms.

More

Jeff Hancock

Jeff Hancock

Harry and Norman Chandler Professor of Communication
hancockj@stanford.edu
650.723.5499
sml.stanford.edu
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 300J

Hancock works on understanding psychological and interpersonal processes in social media.

More

Gabriella Harari

Gabriella Harari

Assistant Professor
gharari@stanford.edu
650.497.9912
maplab.stanford.edu
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 324

Harari studies personality expression, behavior change, and digital media use in daily life.

More

Thomas Hayden

Thomas Hayden

Professor of the Practice, Earth Systems
thayden@stanford.edu
650.721.5722
Y2E2, Rm. 171

More

Shanto Iyengar

Shanto Iyengar

William Robertson Coe Professor
Professor of Political Science
Professor of Communication
siyengar@stanford.edu
650.723.5509
pcl.stanford.edu
Encina Hall, Rm. 419

Iyengar’s areas of expertise include the role of mass media in democratic societies, public opinion, and political psychology.

More

Jon A. Krosnick

Jon A. Krosnick

Frederic O. Glover Professor in Humanities and Social Sciences
Professor of Communication
Professor of Political Science
krosnick@stanford.edu
650.725.3031
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 432

Krosnick does research on attitude formation, change, and effects, on the psychology of political behavior, and on survey research methods.

More

Xiaochang Li

Xiaochang Li

Assistant Professor
xiaochangli@stanford.edu
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 436

Li’s research examines questions surrounding the relationship between information technology and knowledge production and its role in the organization of social life.

More

Geri Migielicz

Geri Migielicz

Hearst Professional in Residence
gerim@stanford.edu
650.723.2910
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 332

More

Jennifer Pan

Jennifer Pan

Professor of Communication
jp1@stanford.edu
650.725.7326
jenpan.com
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 330

Pan’s research examines information control and communication in authoritarian regimes to reveal political choices and outcomes in these opaque societies.

More

Nathaniel Persily

Nathaniel Persily

Professor of Law
Professor of Communication by courtesy
npersily@law.stanford.edu
650.725.9875

Persily’s scholarship and legal practice focus on American election law.

More

Cheryl Phillips

Cheryl Phillips

Hearst Professional in Residence
Director, Big Local News
cep3@stanford.edu, @cephillips
650.723.2504
McClatchy Hall, Rm 300C

Phillips specializes in data journalism and investigative journalism that uses data.

More

Gary M. Pomerantz

Gary M. Pomerantz

Lecturer
garyp1@stanford.edu
@garympomerantz
650.723.1941
www.garympomerantz.com

Gary M. Pomerantz is a nonfiction author and journalist, and has served the past fourteen years as a lecturer in the Department of Communication at Stanford University.

More

Nilam Ram

Nilam Ram

Professor of Communication
Professor of Psychology
nilamram@stanford.edu

Ram studies the dynamic interplay between psychological and media processes and how they change from moment-to-moment and across the life span.

More

Byron Reeves

Byron Reeves

Paul C. Edwards Professor of Communication
reeves@stanford.edu
650.725.3033
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 300A

Reeves’ research includes message processing, social cognition, and social and emotion responses to media.

More

James V. Risser

James V. Risser

Professor (Teaching), Emeritus
Director Emeritus, John S. Knight Journalism Fellowships

More

Donald F. Roberts

Donald F. Roberts

Professor, Emeritus

More

Serdar Tumgoren

Serdar Tumgoren

Lorry I. Lokey Visiting Professor in Professional Journalism
tumgoren@stanford.edu
650.725.7092
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 342

Tumgoren is passionate about open source tools and platforms that help journalists uncover data-driven stories.

More

Fred Turner

Fred Turner

Harry and Norman Chandler Professor of Communication
fturner@stanford.edu
650.723.0706 
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 438

Turner studies media, technology and American cultural history.

More

Janine Zacharia

Janine Zacharia

Carlos Kelly McClatchy Lecturer
zacharia@stanford.edu
650.723.0780
janinezacharia.net
McClatchy Hall, Rm. 300H

More